Wavell State High Teacher Attends Prestigious CERN Program

Wavell State High School teacher Rachel Schnitzerling was one of the three teachers chosen to attend the International High School Teacher Program at CERN.

Held at the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) in Geneva, Switzerland, the program brought together teachers from across the globe to discuss and explore various ways to bring physics into the classroom.

CONGRATULATIONS!!! – to Wavell SHS Science teacher- Ms Schnitzerling who is headed to CERN in July. An amazing…

Posted by Wavell State High School on Wednesday, March 27, 2019

The once-in-a-lifetime opportunity is also a dream come true for the Wavell State High physics enthusiast. Other teachers that were also selected by Australia’s Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) for the program include Sydney teacher, Paul Looyen and Coffs Harbour’s Chris Bormann.

Along with the two teachers, Ms Schnitzerling immersed in a two-week program to participate in lectures and see the works of scientists and engineers at CERN.

CERN is a world-class facility leading nuclear physics research. It also happens to be the home of the popular particle accelerator, the Large Hadron Collider (LHC). Travelling to such a remarkable place and meeting brilliant minds in science surely is a trip to remember for the chosen teachers.

Who is Rachel Schnitzerling?

Credit: Rachel Schnitzerling/YouTube

Ms Schnitzerling has been a Maths, Physics, and Engineering teacher for over 12 years. Before being a teacher, she worked as an engineer for almost seven years.

In her application for the CERN program, she mentioned how she intended to share her learnings and experiences. She will be sharing her knowledge not only to students but to her fellow teachers as well.

Her passion for physics, maths, and engineering reflect on her work. In fact,  she was able to inspire one of her former students to pursue studies in maths education.

According to ANSTO CEO, Dr Adi Paterson, the three teachers should be very proud to get into the program. Participation in the said high school teacher program will benefit Australia’s science classrooms given the knowledge and experience that the teachers will gain during their trip to CERN.

Given her undeniable drive in teaching physics and sharing the science of how the universe works to other people, Wavell State High School is certainly lucky to have Ms Schnitzerling around.

Wavell State High School Students Among Buy Smart Competition Winners

December is arguably one of the months when consumers buy lots of stuff, but kids nowadays are getting better at buying smart. For instance, three exceptional Wavell State High School students were amongst the winners of the Office of Fair Trading’s (OFT) Buy Smart Competition  for school-age students.

The Buy Smart Competition challenges students to get creative and share what they know about shopping and money issues. The competition helps young consumers show what they know about refund rights, scams, online shopping, product labelling, and more.

Kyle Montgomery was Highly Commended for his creative work. Photo credit: Office of Fair Trading

According to Attorney-General Yvette D’Ath, the array of high-quality entries received for this year’s competition showcased the students’ excellent consumer knowledge as well as their artistic and technical skills.

“The Buy Smart Competition challenges students in Years 4 to 12 to choose a consumer issue, research it, then present it as an interesting creative project that can educate their chosen audience,” she said.

Hannah Viney and Lani Raghavan won second place for their informative entry. Photo credit: Office of Fair Trading

“Young people are being brought up in a digital age and are exposed to social media, online advertising and app store purchases earlier than ever before, so I’m pleased to know many of our young consumers are learning to identify consumer-related risks.”

Wavell State High Buy Smart Competition Winners

More than 6,000 students participated in Buy Smart school presentations this year and the Office of Fair Trading received entries from more than 750 students.

Photo credit: Wavell State High School/Facebook

For Wavell State High School, Kyle Montgomery got the Highly Commended award for the  Years 10–12 category.

Photo credit: Wavell State High School/Facebook

Other smart young consumers from the state high include Hannah Viney and Lani Raghavan who won second place for the Years 7–9 category.

Following is the full list of winners for Buy Smart Competition 2018:

Category Years 4–6

First: Mckenzie Kirkham – St Paul’s Lutheran Primary School (Caboolture)
Second: Matthew Mynett and Soren Zschech – Kurwongbah State School (Petrie)
Third: Skye Hetaraka and McKenzie Sanker – Boondall State School (Boondall)
Highly Commended:

  • Ella Macuga and Lucy Stone – Nundah State School (Nundah)
  • Amelia Gray and Emma Heijboer – Kurwongbah State School (Petrie)
  • Nicholas Bray Alex Wong, Jonathon Culley, and Mitchell Burchard – Faith Lutheran College (Victoria Point)

Category Years 7–9

First: Emily Baxter and Sarah Fenner – Loreto College (Coorparoo)
Second: Hannah Viney and Lani Raghavan – Wavell State High School (Wavell Heights)
Third: Zion Cordero, Sebastian Hurcum and Mack Geiger – Trinity College (Gladstone)
Highly Commended:

  • Madelize Breet and Alison Wu – Sheldon College (Sheldon)
  • Lily Ji and Tiana Tong – St Aidan’s Anglican Girls School (Corinda)
  • Caitlin Turner – Clayfield College (Clayfield)
  • Amelia Wakefield – Redlands College (Wellington Point)
  • Drishti – Toolooa State High School (Gladstone Central)
  • Angela Greer – James Nash State High School (Gympie)

Category Years 10–12

First: Paris Teevan, Taya Kesby and Eloise O’Donnell – St Aidan’s Anglican Girls School (Corinda)
Second: Elisa Tamai, Gabrielle Christou, and Rose Ringelstein – St Aidan’s Anglican Girls School (Corinda)
Third: Khushi Kadia and Jasmine Kaur – Aspley State High School (Aspley)
Highly Commended: Kyle Montgomery – Wavell State High School (Wavell Heights)

Commissioner’s School Champion

Bullyard State School (Bullyard)

For further information, visit the Office of Fair Trading’s (OFT) Buy Smart Competition website.