Wavell State High School Nominated for 3 Awards At 2022 Australian Education Awards

wavell shs
Photo credit: Wavell State High School/Facebook

Did you know that Wavell State High School has been named as a finalist in three categories at the 2022 Australian Education Awards?

Read: Upbeat Arts Promotes Mental Health With Brand New Choir in Wavell Heights

The school’s Geography and Geospatial program has been nominated for the Best STEM Program award and the Innovation in Curriculum Design category.

“The Humanities Department and students at Wavell State High School, supported by the Executive Principal Elizabeth Foster, have worked hard to ensure that technology is embedded meaningfully and productively into the curriculum. This means our students are exceeding assessment outcomes while also developing desirable industry skills and post-schooling pathway opportunities,” the school’ page wrote in a post on Facebook.

Photo credit: Wavell State High School/Facebook

For the individual awards, Mr Brett Dascombe has been nominated for the Secondary School Teacher of the Year for a government school.

Local Resources

“We congratulate Mr Brett Dascombe and our Humanities team for being recognised as excellence awardees, this places Wavell amongst the country’s top performing schools in these award areas,” Wavell State High School posted.

Tower Ad

This award recognises the most outstanding government secondary school teacher in an Australian school. When judging this category the following criteria will be considered: 

  • Consistently high standards of teaching
  • Innovation in developing students and supporting their learning
  • Commitment to professional development and collaboration with colleagues to address student learning needs
  • Engagement with parents and the wider school community
Photo credit: Wavell State High School/Facebook

Now in its fifth year, The Australian Education Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding achievements of the country’s top performing schools, principals, department heads and teachers.

The winners will be announced at the official awards evening to be held in Darling Island, Sydney on Friday 12 August 2022.